Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail a link to a friend
Monday June 20, 2022

Final Senate Decision on Boyle Nomination Nears after Procedural Votes

More free Product Safety Letter stories


A subscription to PRODUCT SAFETY LETTER is like adding a person to your staff to dig up must-know developments like these for less than $25 a week, and you learn of hundreds every year.


CPSC's Unilateral Announcement Targets Baby Rescue Bags


Amazon Wants Info from GAO Audit of CPSC Determinations/Recalls Work


Boyle Not Voted Favorably out of Committee but Nomination Stays Alive


CPSC's Speed-up Trend Is Intentional, ICPHSO Attendees Hear


CPSC Files Administrative Complaint to Force Leachco to Recall Podsters


Online Toy Sellers Vary in Their Age-Grading Precision


Judge in Recall Case Deems Amazon to Be a Distributor


SaferProducts Submissions Increased During 2021


Mary Boyle's nomination to become a CPSC commissioner moved closer to a final Senate decision with a 49-47-4 vote June 16 to end debate. This cloture action was a technicality; there was not ongoing debate. This move followed other procedural voting June 14 and May 16 that also helped to clear the way for final consideration. The need for some of the votes was the Commerce Committee not reporting her nomination favorably after a 14-14 party-line tie (PSL, 3/7/22). That did not kill her nomination but did prompt extra steps.


At the time, committee ranking member Roger Wicker (R-Miss) reiterated Republicans' concerns (PSL, 10/25/21) about her roles, as CPSC executive director, in the 2019 revelation of unauthorized release of information protected by 6(b) and the 2020 decision to pull agency staff temporarily from the ports to protect their health due to the pandemic. President Joe Biden nominated Boyle in mid-2021 (PSL, 7/12/21) with resubmission in January (PSL, 1/10/22) for the new Congress.


Boyle would step into an already-running, seven-year term that began in 2018. Her slot is the one previously filled by Commissioner Ann Marie Buerkle. These would be the current terms:

  • Dana Baiocco (R) to October 2024.
  • Mary Boyle (D) to October 2025.
  • Peter Feldman (R) to October 2026.
  • Alexander Hoehn-Saric (D) to October 2027.
  • Richard Trumka (D) to October 2028.

The CPSA does allow commissioners to stay up to an extra year – if not already replaced – to protect the quorum. Thus, for example, Boyle could serve until 2026 even if not renominated.