Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on LinkedIn
Thursday March 07, 2024

Senate Confirms Dziak to Join CPSC

The Senate March 7 confirmed Douglas Dziak, by unanimous voice vote, to become a CPSC commissioner. He will be the second Republican on the panel when he is sworn in, likely in coming days. Since 2021, he has been chief counsel for Commissioner Peter Feldman, the other Republican. President Joe Biden nominated Dziak nearly a year ago (PSL, 4/3/23).


He fills the already running term vacated by former Commissioner Dana Baiocco (PSL, 10/10/22). That slot runs to October 2024 although Dziak could stay to October 2025 under the CPSA provision that lets commissioners stay up to a year beyond the official end of their terms to mitigate against vacancies. Whoever wins the 2024 presidential election will need to consider him for renomination during 2025.


On Dziak's confirmation, Feldman wrote:

"I would like to offer my sincere congratulations to Doug Dziak on his confirmation by the United States Senate to serve on the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. I also want to thank him for his work on behalf of my office as chief counsel and for his many years of personal friendship."
"The Commission’s safety mission is critical, and we have a full docket for the year ahead. Doug’s distinguished record of public service has prepared him well for this new chapter as our fifth commissioner."
"I welcome Commissioner Dziak and look forward to working alongside him."

Chairman Alexander Hoehn-Saric remarked:

I am pleased to congratulate Douglas Dziak on his confirmation as a CPSC Commissioner. Doug has spent many years of his career in government service including various roles within the U.S. Senate and, most recently, as Chief Counsel to Commissioner Peter Feldman at the CPSC. I admire Doug’s commitment to public service and I look forward to working with him in his new role to keep consumers safe.

Prior to joining Feldman's office, Dziak served two stints in the Senate: He was majority staff director on the Senate budget committee in 2020-2022 and legislative director for Sen. Michael Enzi (R-Wyo.) in 2018-2020. Earlier, he was legislative director and chief counsel for Sen George Voinovich (R-Ohio) in 2009-2011 and general counsel for the Senate homeland security and government affairs committee in 2006-2009.


Between, he was in private practice at Holland & Knight from 2011 to 2017 and Nixon Peabody from 2011 to 2017.


He earned two degrees from Ohio University – an MA in Economics and a BA in economics and English. His law degree is from William & Mary.


Commissioners' terms run (extra year):

  • Douglas Dziak (R) to October 2024 (2025).
  • Mary Boyle (D) to October 2025 (2026).
  • Peter Feldman (R) to October 2026 (2027).
  • Alexander Hoehn-Saric (D) to October 2027 (2028).
  • Richard Trumka (D) to October 2028 (2029).